Things That Make You Go… Hmmm – Barefoot Edition

July 14, 2011

Found this gem on the website of Barefoot Canada that talks about some of the things people say about barefooting that makes you wonder where their thinking process is at:

http://barefootcanada.org/feet-and-society/things-that-make-you-go-hmm-the-barefoot-edition/ 

These thoughts really do make one go… Hmmm?

Check this article out,

~ barefoot chuck

 

It’s Official – I’m Training for a Sprint Triathlon

July 14, 2011

It’s official! 

I am going to be training for a sprint triathlon – actually, a reverse sprint triathlon.

Instead of the standard Swim-Bike-Run format, the Tinsel Triathlon this coming December 11, 2011, puts the order of events as Run-Bike-Swim.  The distances are a 5-Kilometer RUN, 12-mile BIKE, and a 150-meter SWIM (in a heated pool).

The biggest obstacle will be whether or not I can rehab and strengthen a right knee that has seen much abuse, including major surgery way back in 1973.  Since then, I was able to make it through Navy boot camp in 1979; however, in the last several years, I have failed to take proper care of the knee (and the rest of my bodily shell as well).

So, in order to get the body back into a state of health, fitness and superior conditioning, I chose as a goal to complete a short-distance triathlon.  Regular training for the events, general exercises for improved fitness, strength, and flexibility, and a diet that is low-fat, high-raw, (mostly) vegan will make up the bulk of the next 21 weeks.

I have access to a pool at my apartment complex (20 yards only, but one has to start somewhere), my bike is a Trek 7.2 Hybrid (part mountain bike/part commuter/part street bike), and I own a pair of running shoes (don’t know if I’ll be allowed to run the race barefoot – so I’ll probably prepare to race in the same shoes for running and cycling (not cycling shoes, cleats or toe straps).  As a minimalist in training, I want to also take advantage of the opportunity to prove (to myself mostly) I can complete the race with minimal, basic equipment.  Besides, my budget does not allow for bringing in any new, more modern gear.  Hence, I’ll be doing this, as they say, old school.

I will be six days past my 59th birthday on race day; my goal is not to win the race, or my age group… it is to (1) finish the race, (2) complete it in a ‘respectable’ time, and, most of all, (3) to have fun doing it.

I am calling on several disciplines to help me out:  a modified 80-10-10 diet per Dr. Doug Graham, basic yoga movements, simple body-weight exercises, a couple of kettlebells, and the ‘tools of trade’ so-to-speak, a pool, a bicycle, and a pair of running shoes.

This blog is now going to be a training log / record for myself as well as a place to put down my feelings, insights, and comments as I progress over the next 21 weeks.

~ barefoot chuck


Barefoot Steve Explains Barefoot with Video

July 14, 2011

Watch this great short little video from Barefoot Steve:

http://youtu.be/theHXQP9Bo0 

 

Enjoy these explanations from a barefooter to a shod person…

~ barefoot chuck