30 Day Raw Foods Challenge

Haven’t posted recently; been doing some research lately and at 6 months from my 59th birthday, I want/need to make some serious changes in my diet and exercise program.

I’ve been (sort-of) following a paleo/primal diet and haven’t been real pleased with the overall results so far.  A friend, who is in very good shape and is as happy a guy and full of energy as you’d ever want to see (annoyingly so at times), asked me to have an open mind about some things he’d like to share with me.

Okay, I’m game… bring it on.

He asked me to read a book.  He gave me several websites to check out.  He shared what was working in his life and what he credited it to… and then asked if I was willing to take a 30-Day Challenge.

He pointed out that several of the people I was looking at in the Paleo/Primal world are in fact, not as fit looking or in the shape they should be based on the claims they make for their way of eating and way of life.  We checked out some pics of several of the authors and promoters of that lifestyle and he was right… seeing them at lectures, recent vs older pics of them at different events… hard to argue with his basic premise:

Take advise from people getting the results you desire.

Hmmm.  Okay, let’s take a look at some of those people doing what my friend was also doing.

Grant Campbell.  Harley Johnstone.  Richard Gambino.  Markus Rothkranz.  (‘google’ any of them yourself; you’ll see what I’m talking about.)

So.  Here’s his challenge to me:  Go with a LF-RV diet regimen for 30 days.  (Knowing my wife graduates Saturday, June 4th and there is a reception planned afterwards that will have some foods I won’t be eating during the challenge, he recommends starting it on Sunday June 5th.)

I accept the challenge.  Starting June 5th, 2011 through July 4th, 2011, I will eat a LF-RV (low-fat raw-vegan) diet consisting of raw foods from plants only.  Primarily whole, fresh, raw, (preferably organic when possible) fruits and some leafy greens and non-sweet fruits.

It is basically Dr. Doug Graham’s 881rv program:  80% carbohydrates (from simple carbs like fruit), 10% protein, and 10% fat.  It will work out to having breakfast, lunch and any snacks of fresh fruits and for dinner a HUGE raw salad (lettuces, spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, celery, onions, etc.) with filtered or purified water as the primary beverage.  No grains.  No sugars.  No animal products of any kind (no meat, fish, eggs, BACON), or dairy (cheese or milk).  Man, this is going to be hard to start!

This challenge also includes getting into a regular exercise program of bodyweight exercises, yoga, bicycling, swimming, and just moving the body through space in whatever means possible – even if only going for a walk – do something everyday.

Now, in addition to providing stuff about being/going barefoot, we have the ‘challenge’ to report on for the next 30 days beginning Sunday.  Hang on, it’s gonna be a wild ride.

~ Chuck

Leave a Reply

